Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Mixing Arts

I love hearing about people who discover a musician because their favorite author posted a playlist of the songs they listened to while writing a book.  I wish I could do that – write a book and listen to music I cared about, but I can’t.  I either have to tune the music out or turn it off.  I don’t quite understand people who can listen to music they are passionate about as they write.  For me it’d be like watching tv or reading a book while writing.  For both the consumption of entertainment and the act of entertaining, I use up my creative momentum.

But, if I could listen to music while I wrote, I think this is the music I’d most like to listen to (listed by artist):

*Note: The songs and the links might contain profanity.  All are on YouTube, so I assume if they are too bad they’ll do an age check.

Atmosphere: Sunshine

Awolnation: Not Your Fault, Sail

Blink 182: Adam’s Song (I know it’s depressing, but I love it.  It also reminds me of my teen years and I’m writing YA)

Cake: Short Skirt Long Jacket, Friend is a Four Letter Word

City and Colour: The Girl

Cute is What We Aim For: Hollywood, Risque

Dashboard Confessional: Vindicated, Hands Down

The Decemberists: Shankill Butchers, Apology Song, The Tain

DramaramaAnything Anything

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros: Home

Fall Out Boy: Thanks Fr Th Mmrs

Fionn Regan: Put a Penny in the Slot

Head Automatica: Beating Heart Baby

Jason Derulo: Whatcha Say (I also like the original by Imogen HeapHide and Seek)

John Fusciante: (I probably can listen to her while writing as she doesn’t have lyrics, but I don’t really) Murderers

Landon Pigg: Falling in Love at a Coffee Shop

Lindsey Stirling: (Again, I can listen to this while I write because there are no lyrics)  Crystalize

Macklemore: Ten Thousand Hours, Cowboy Boots, My Oh My, Same Love, Wing$

Modest Mouse: Dashboard, Dramamine

Noah and the Whale: 5 Years Time

Of Monsters and Men: Little Talks

R.E.M.: Losing My Religion

Sleigh Bells: Rill Rill

Story of the Year: Until the Day I Die

Sublime: April 29, 1992 (Miami)

Underoath: Reinventing Your Exit

Violent Femmes: Gone Daddy Gone, Kiss Off

The XX: Angels, Crystalized

The other reason I don’t understand how people post playlists while they write is that writing a novel often takes a while.  My musical inclinations change daily, so I don’t get how someone could write with the same playlist playing over and over again – unless they are tuning it out like I do.  This list, while awesome, would be different tomorrow.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

