Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Apparently not worth writing a title for

When I write as much as I did yesterday, much of my time is taken up by edits the next time I write.   Even so, I made my quota of 1,000 words today.  I also broke the 30k barrier today and hit 30,198, which means I wrote 1,112 words.  That means I’m at 4,340 so far for the week.  I’ve really overbooked myself this weekend, so I’m going to try and get a bunch of work done now and try to write again tonight.  If I want to actually make the target I set out for myself at the beginning of this challenge (1,000 words a day), I have to write another 2,660 more words.  That’s probably another hour and a half to two hours of writing – depending on how quickly I can immerse myself in the story.

One challenge I’m running into right now is that I am trying really hard to follow a plot that I already wrote, but there’s a lot to fill in in between the major actions.  There are also a lot of parts to the major action.  How do I know when I’m just doing what I should be doing and making the plot go to its logical conclusion, and when I’m just fiddling around and adding crap that shouldn’t be there?

The other thing is that I’m at 30,000 words and I’ve already hit act 3.  While this is a YA novel, so the word count can be kind of low, but what if I get stuck at 40k words?  That freaks me out.  I’m hoping to make this book between 60k and 70k words.  Also, what if I hit the sweet spot on words, then edit it and want to cut out like 10k words?  Then I’m screwed.  That’s why sometimes I have to turn the counter off and just write.

Finally, I have some mysterious stuff happening and I’m not planning on answering all questions by the end of the book.  One question will still be wide open.  I am planning on writing more than one story in this universe, so does it matter that there’s one wide open question at the end – but the rest are wrapped up?  There are other authors who do this, but they usually have a book deal for the series first…

On another note, I researched hospital scrubs for my novel, and now I’m getting google ads for “Scrubs and Beyond!”  Really?  From one search?  Come on now.

either-this-kid-has-a-lightbulb-up-his-butt

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

