Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Bleeding on the Page

I really like this quote from Ernest Hemingway: “There is nothing to writing.  All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”  Typewriter

I feel like this is appropriate today to two reasons.  One is my character is going through some tough times physically – in fact that’s the one thing you can count on in this novel, she gets more and more damaged as the book goes on, and as an anorexic cokehead, she wasn’t in great shape to begin with.

The other reason is that I’m having a really hard time writing.  This always happens toward the end of a book.  In fact, I’ve written three novels before this one, and only one of those novels has an ending.  I’m serious.  This fourth has an ending in the outline, but now that I’m there, I feel like I will never reach the end – and I feel that the end will be too soon and I’ll have to extend the story.  Way to be contrary, Julia.

Anyway, word count wise I’m doing better than yesterday, though not quite on target. I wrote 1,550 words today (admittedly about 200 of that was from yesterday), so I’m at 46,030.  This means I have 4,621 words to go this week if I want to make my weekly minimum.  With the words harder and harder to get out, this is a little tough.  But, I’ll make it.  I’m really enjoying this story, in spite of my doubts, my need to bleed all over the damn page to get some words out, and my weird writing schedule.

I leave you with a genuinely funny quote:

“Writing is not necessarily something to be ashamed of, but do it in private and wash your hands afterwards.” – Robert A. Heinlein

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

