Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Writing Quotes I Love

One of my clients likes me to find great quotes all over the web and send them to them for use.  I found a ton of great ones for NaNoWriMo, and I found a ton that I can’t send her.  So, here are some of my favorites.  They range from inspirational to crude to silly:

“Talking is a hydrant in the yard and writing is a faucet upstairs in the house. Opening the first takes the pressure off the second.” – Robert Frost

“I’d have stopped writing years ago if it were for the money.” – Paulo Coelho

“I’m writing an unauthorized autobiography.” – Steven Wright

“Writing is not life, but I think that sometimes it can be a way back to life.” ― Stephen King

“I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.”   – Douglas Adams

“The difference between the right word and the almost right word is the difference between lightning and a lightning bug.” ― Mark Twain

“One day I will find the right words, and they will be simple.” ― Jack Kerouac

“Writing is a socially acceptable form of schizophrenia.” ― E.L. Doctorow

“Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” ― Anton Chekhov

“This is how you do it: you sit down at the keyboard and you put one word after another until its done. It’s that easy, and that hard.” ― Neil Gaiman

“The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress.” — Philip Roth

“All readers come to fiction as willing accomplices to your lies. Such is the basic goodwill contract made the moment we pick up a work of fiction.” — Steve Almond

“If a nation loses its storytellers, it loses its childhood.” — Peter Handke

If you want to check out more quotes, I found these ones here, here, here.

I hope you’re all having a great November!  I’m going to be off a little while, working on a project with my mom and then back to editing my book.  Random posts will resume… randomly.

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Writing Quotes I Love

  1. Thanks for these! Another one I like is from Po Bronson: “The hardest thing was not learning to write. The hardest thing was to never give up.”

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

