Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

One Sentence Book Reviews

I’ve been doing a lot of editing, which isn’t conducive to my usual posts about writing… except to say that I really dislike editing.  It makes me question myself, my intention with my story, and whether or not I’m beating all the life out of it. Capn-with-Hunted-5

That said, I really love reading/listening to other books to help my own writing and just for the joy of it.  I have an Audible subscription and a Kindle, so I end up reading a lot. On top of that I’ve been working on query letters for my book Hunting Annabelle. Part of that process is trying to squish my book down into a really short description – which is something I’m not great at.  I thought I’d do some quick, one-line reviews of the best books I’ve read/listened to in the last few months to give me a little perspective.  Here’s the result (note that these aren’t a summary of the book or anything, just what I have to say to recommend them):

The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson: A haunting horror story that has a slow build and a spookily unsatisfactory ending.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote: Masterfully written story about the love/hate reality of friendship – will make you cry.

Closure, Limited and other Zombie Tales by Max Brooks: If you loved World War Z (the book – not the movie), you will love this book.

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King: Ever wondered what happened to the kid from The Shining?  Ever wondered what would happen if Joe Hill’s worlds and Stephen King’s mad skillz came together? This is that book.

(Sorry – that was longer than one sentence.)

Dreadnought by Cherie Priest: A Rebel girl travels through the Civil War to Seattle – with steampunk and zombies.

Dry by Augusten Burroughs: The true (and SUPER messed-up) story of one man’s attempt to get/stay sober in New York City.

I am not a Serial Killer by Dan Wells: John Cleaver is a young sociopath trying to get along in the world, but as murders follow his every step he begins to wonder if he’s really a psychopathic serial killer.

Ironskin by Tina Connolly: Basically Jayne Eyre with magic, faeries, and plastic surgery that corrodes one’s very soul.

The Maze Runner by James Dashner: A kid finds himself in a strange world with no memory, trying to get along with other kids and a noticeable lack of adults.

Rip Off! by a variety of authors: A bunch of short stories which start with the first line of different of classic tales. My fave was the noir version of Moby Dick.

The Shambling Guide to New York City by Mur Lafferty: A New Yorker looking for a job in the tooth and claw publishing industry finds herself in the underworld of zombies, vampires, demons, sprites, and other so-called “coterie” living in NYC.

Under the Skin by Michel Faber: (SPOILERS) An alien modified to look like a human picks off hitchhikers for a menacing corporation which sells human meat to upper class aliens as a delicacy.  CREEPY AS HELL.

Wool by Hugh Howey: A well-written FREE series about a group of people living in a silo. As time passes the confined world becomes more and more mysterious – to the reader and to the characters.

The End is Nigh edited by John Joseph Adams and Hugh Howey: An amazing collection of stories which all run on the same theme: what is the world like right before an apocalypse?

So… how did I do?  If you’ve read any of the above, give me your take.  Just try to keep it between one and three sentences.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

