Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Synopsisizing

I know that’s not a word. But, I have to share an accomplishment and a new dread. Creativity - copyright 123rf profile Veeranat Suwangulrut

First, the accomplishment: The never ending novel is edited! I decided to take some time and just work my little buttocks off and finish it up and I did! It actually wasn’t quite as much work as I was anticipating. So… bully for me! Yay!

Second, the dread: I have to write a synopsis. Everywhere I turn says this is a tough prospect. It actually wouldn’t be all that hard – heck, I’d be done already – if there were more clear-cut rules on writing a synopsis. Apparently, there are two schools of thought on this subject:

A. Write a synopsis that is cliff-hangery and exciting and shows off your mad writing skillz (with a z.)

B. Write a synopsis that is a dry list of all the major plot points and character arcs.

Honestly, I can do “B” because I already have that. It’s what I’ve been working off of as I write. I’m not a big drafter, so that’s pretty much all I lay out before I write a book. But, come on. Boooooring to read. Like super boring. Mega boring. don’t even want to read that again.

So, here I am, trying to take a super dry list of what happens in my book and shove it into two pages, while keeping it interesting and indicative of my writing style. Wait, did you hear screaming in despair? No… that didn’t come from me… did it?

Just kidding folks. It’s not all doom and gloom. It’s just a new skill that I have yet to master. Like my exercise instructor says, it’s a new challenge. So far, I have found these links the most useful:

The Editors Blog

MarissaMeyer.com

I’m still trying to find some good examples of completed synopses. There are a lot out there or movies and TV shows, but it appears that they are a bit harder to find when it comes to books. Does anyone have advice here? I’m sure I just haven’t searched deeply enough, but I’m being lazy. Any advice or ideas are welcome.

Okay, back to the salt mines with me! Cheerio, friends and writers!

02/02/15 Update: I asked for some advice from the good folks at Ditch Diggers and the hosts, Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace gave great advice and the guests Kameron Hurley and Chuck Wendig also gave some fantastic advice. This is NOT a clean podcast, but I really appreciated the tips and info they shared. Here’s the link.  (They synopsis tips start at around 1 hr 10 mins – right around when Chuck Wendig says “The synopsis is always a cruel lie.”)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

