Writing 365

Warning – May Emit High Levels of Random

Writing 365 – Writing Prompt “Serenity”

I was taking a walk in my backyard yesterday and that inspired me to write this short vignette of serenity. Thanks to my Facebook friend Farrel L. for this prompt.

Creekside

Steam plumes into the frosty air as I blow across my coffee. The morning is crisp, finally feeling like fall, even though it’s now the cusp of winter. Only a few soggy leaves clutch the gray-barked trees lining the creek.

I set up a folding camp chair on my weathered porch, enjoying the song of the rushing creek. In the summer, the water goes down to a trickle, but recent rains have whipped the steel colored waters into a torrent.

The world smells crisp and damp. An undercurrent of loamy soil, rain, and duck dung seep into my nose. Only a couple of yards away, ducks stand by the creek, some quacking and foraging, others content to stand perfectly still, like duck statues. The stillness won’t last long. Once they see me, they will babble themselves into an uproar before heading my direction, hoping for a handout. But for now, the ducks are happy to sit or scrounge in the rain-heavy grass.

The cold seeps into my skin, and I know I will go indoors soon. But for now, I will cup my hot mug, sip my coffee, and listen to the creek as it shushes its way over rocks and roots, waiting for the ducks to come.

End

Thanks for reading! I look forward to writing another story, vignette, or poem for you tomorrow.

© 2016-2017 JULIA SHAW, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Shaw Marketing

Sharing Your Business with the World

Sharon Rawlette

Memoirist. Essayist. Philosopher.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

Ray Ferrer - Emotion on Canvas

** OFFICIAL Site of Artist Ray Ferrer **

My Blog

Warning - May Emit High Levels of Random

Manifest Photo Blog

Photography And Evidence-Based Art Information By Peter C. Blanchard

NERDSTEAK

Food and Culture Shenanigans

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Kev's Great Indie Authors

Supporting Indie Authors Worldwide

The Bewildered 20-Something Writer

The ramblings of a 20-something writer fresh out of graduate school as she ventures out of the classroom and into the real world.

